About Map>planners in private practice

Planners in Private Practice

Planners in Private Practice (PIPP) is a division of the Michigan Chapter, American Planning Association.  PIPP is a collective of private planning consulting firms that provide fee-for-service or contract based services for planning, zoning, development and site plan review, economic and community development, placemaking and myriad other municipal functions.


Michigan has dozens of planning firms, large and small, to meet the unique planning and zoning needs in your community. A planning consultant might be hired to update your zoning ordinance, or to lead a master planning process.  Smaller communities might retain planning consultants for day to day planning and zoning administration.  


MAP has developed a resource to answer your questions about using private practice planners.  Follow this link to learn more about private practice planning in Michigan, including these important topics:

  • Why Use a Planning Consultant
  • How to Select a Planning Consultant
  • The Competitive Selection Process
  • Interview and Selection
  • Ten Reasons to Look to Michigan’s Private Practice Community Planning Consultants FIRST

DIRECTORY OF MICHIGAN CONSULTING FIRMS

(Members Of Planners In Private Practice)

Anderson Economic Group

Sara Bowers

1555 Watertower Place #100

East Lansing, Michigan 48823

sbowers@andersoneconomicgroup.com

(517) 333-6984

 

Beckett & Raeder, Inc.

535 West William Street,

Suite 101 Ann Arbor, MI 48103

(734) 663-2622 Fax (734) 663-6759

Petoskey (231) 347-2523

Traverse City (231) 933-8400

jri@bria2.com

www.bria2.com

 

Building Place Consultants

Rodney Nanney, AICP

(734) 483-2271

rodney@buildingplace.net

 

Carlisle|Wortman Associates, Inc.

John L. Enos, AICP

605 S. Main Street, Suite 1, Ann Arbor, MI 48104

(734) 662-2200 Fax (734) 662-1935

(248) 625-8455 Clarkston
jenos@cwaplan.com
www.cwaplan.com

 

Community Image Builders

CIB Planning

Carmine P. Avantini, AICP

17195 Silver Parkway, #309

Fenton, MI  48430

avantini@cibplanning.com

www.cibplanning.com

810-335-3800 

 

Gibbs Planning Group

Town Planning + Market Research + Landscape Architecture

Robert J. Gibbs, AICP, Owner

240 Martin Street, Birmingham, Michigan  48009

(248) 642-4800

carol@gibbsplanning.com

www.gibbsplanning.com

   

Giffels Webster 

Rodney Arroyo, AICP

28 West Adams, Suite 1200

Detroit, MI  48226

Phone: (313) 962-4442
Fax: (313) 962-5068

rarroyo@giffelswebster.com

www.giffelswebster.com
www.clearzoning.com

  

HNTB Michigan, Inc.

Matt W. Webb, AICP

535 Griswold Street, Suite 1100

Detroit, MIchigan 48226

mwebb@hntb.com

Tel: (313) 961-3330

Cell: (517) 243-9096

Fax: (313) 961-4430

www.hntb.com

 

Hamilton Anderson Associates

1435 Randolph Street, Suite 200, Detroit, MI 48226

(313) 964-0270 Fax (313) 964-0170

achesterton@hamilton-anderson.com

www.hamilton-anderson.com

 

Harvey Consulting

Rebecca J. Harvey, AICP

5161 North 8th Street, Kalamazoo, MI 49009

(269) 375-7957 Fax (269) 375-7957

rebeccaharvey@charter.net

 

Landplan Inc.

Mark A. Eidelson, AICP

PO Box 313, Okemos, MI 48805-0313

(517) 347-2120 Fax (517) 347-2234

www.landplan-eidelson.com

 

LandUse|USA, LLC

Sharon M. Woods, CRE, NCI, MA, MCP

6971 Westgate Drive, Laingsburg, MI 48848

Phone: (517) 290-5531

sharonwoods@landuseusa.com
www.landuseusa.com

 

Livable Community By Design, LLC

Philip L. Meyer, AICP, Principal

66 West 13th Street

Holland, MI  49423

Phone:  (616) 566-5188

communitybydesign@comcast.net

 

livingLAB: A collaborative design studio

1274 Library Street, Suite 1D

Detroit, MI 48226

Phone: (313) 974-7602

courtney@livinglabdetroit.com

www.livinglabdetroit.com

 

MainStreet Planning Company

Janis Norman Johnson, AICP

Timothy J. Johnson, PCP

1600 East Beltline NE, Suite 212

Grand Rapids, MI  49525

Phone: 616.649.3846

jjohnson@mainstreetplanningco.com

tjohnson@mainstreetplanningco.com

www.mainstreetplanningco.com

 

M.C. Planning & Design

504 Liberty Street, Petoskey, MI 49770

(231) 487-0745 Fax (231) 487-0746

mcampbell@mcplanningdesign.com

 

MKSK studios

Brad Strader, AICP

681 West Forest Ave

Detroit, MI  48201

(248) 586-0505

bstrader@mkskstudios.com

 

Mannik Smith Group

Lucie Fortin, AICP

1771 North Dixie Highway
Monroe, Michigan 48162

(734) 289-2200

lfortin@manniksmithgroup.com

 

McKenna 

235 East Main Street, Suite 105, Northville, Michigan 48167

(248) 596-0920 Fax (248) 596-0930

(toll free) (888) 226-4326

Kalamazoo (269) 382-4443

info@mcka.com

www.mcka.com

 

Mead & Hunt, Inc.

Lynn Wilson, AICP, Senior Project Planner

2605 Port Lansing Road, Lansing, MI 48906

(517) 321-8334 Fax (517) 321-5932

(toll free) (866) 441-5214

lynn.wilson@meadhunt.com

www.meadhunt.com

 

Nederveld, Inc.

Terry Sanford, Principal

217 Grandville Ave. SW Suite 302, Grand Rapids, MI 49503

(616) 575-5190 Fax (616) 575-6644

(toll free) (800) 222-1868

Ann Arbor (734) 929-6963

tsanford@nederveld.com

www.nederveld.com

 

North of 45

Patrick Coleman, AICP

49014 N Grosse Pointe Road,  Hancock, MI  49330

(906) 370-9953

pcoleman@northof45llc.com

 

OHM Advisors

Heather Seyfarth, AICP

34000 Plymouth Road

Livonia, MI 48150

Heather.Seyfarth@ohm-advisors.com

734.522.6711xx

 

Pivot Planning & Design Collaborative

Adrianna Jordan, AICP, Principal

10784 Borgman Ave.

Huntington Woods, MI 48070

(734) 846-7015

adrianna@pivotpdc.com

www.pivotpdc.com

   

PLB Planning Group, LLC

Paul M. LeBlanc, AICP
Grand Rapids, MI
 

Poggemeyer Design Group, Inc.

Randy Mielnik, AICP, LEED AP, Principal Owner

2262 North Monroe Street, Monroe, MI 48162

(734) 384-1380 Fax (734) 384-1381

MielnikR@poggemeyer.com
www.poggemeyer.com

 

Preston Community Services, LLC

Peter Preston, AICP

PO Box 413, Saint Johns, MI  48879

(517) 256-0566

pcsmail.pete@gmail.com

 

Quinn Evans Architects

Kristen Nyht, AICP

219 ½ N. Main Street, Suite 200, Ann Arbor MI 48104

(734) 663-5888

knyht@quinnevans.com

www.quinnevans.com

  

Rowe Professional Services Company

J. Douglas Piggott, AICP

540 South Saginaw Street, Suite 200, Flint, Michigan 48502

(810) 341-7500 Fax (810) 341-7573

DPiggott@rowepsc.com
www.rowepsc.com
  

SAFEBuilt Studio

Brian Borden, AICP

426 E. Lincoln Ave.
Royal Oak, Michigan 48067

248.586.0505 EXT. 201

www.safebuilt.com/studio

bborden@safebuilt.com

 

Social Impact Philanthropy and Investment

Jason Ball, AICP

609 E Fifth Ave.

Flint, MI 48503

jason@sipi.solutions

www.sipi.solutions

 
Spicer Group

Robert Eggers, AICP, Principal

230 S. Washington Avenue, Saginaw, MI 48607

(toll free) (800) 833-0062 Fax (989) 754-4440

robe@spicergroup.com

www.spicergroup.com
 

Wade Trim

500 Griswold Avenue, Suite 2500, Detroit, MI 48226

(313) 961-3650 Fax (313) 961-0898

nlomako@wadetrim.com

www.wadetrim.com
 
William & Works, Inc.

Lynee L. Wells, AICP, Senior Planner

549 Ottawa Avenue, NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503

(616) 224-1500 Fax (616) 224-1501

wells@williams-works.com

www.williams-works.com

 

PROFESSIONAL QUALIFICATIONS

Most professional planners practicing in Michigan are certified and/or registered. The American Institute of Certified Planners (AICP) is the national professional institute within the American Planning Association (APA). AICP's central mission is the professional development and certification of its members as a means to the ongoing improvement of the practice of planning. AICP membership includes about 10,000 of the 30,000 APA members. 

We hope these recommendations help. Please contact any members of the Planners in Private Practice group for more information about selecting a planning consultant.
This page last updated on 10/12/2017.
   

Copyright © 2005 Michigan Association of Planning, A Chapter of the American Planning Association
1919 West Stadium Blvd., Suite 4 | Ann Arbor, MI 48103 | (p) 734.913.2000 (f) 734.913.2061
"Making Great Places Happen"

Powered by Community Center™ Software from LIAA

Add to MyMAP
Use MyMAP